TechEd Day 1

Well, here I am at the end of quite a good day.
 
I presented a couple of talks today, on SSIS deployment and SSAS design for high performance. Quite well received, and remarkably well attended. (Looking forward to seeing the evaluations feedback, I’m such a ompetitive guy!)
 
Also had a lot of fun recording a conversation for TechEd Online. Ryan and I spoke about methods to accelerate BI development, and the impact that could have on project lifecycle. Very strange talking to a camera, apparently it came out quite well, will post the link once the video is posted.
 
I also managed to attend 2 sessions, one on Data Mining in applications. Basic concepts weren’t new, what I did enjoy was seeing a potential market for Data Mining in the data validation space. Interesting idea:
Use past historical data to guage the percentage accurancy of new data being captured, such as customer details.
So, if someone tried to capture their name as John, as a Female with the age of 2911 years, these fields get thrown against a mining model, which will give you a percentage chance that the combination is valid. It can also identify those fields that are possibly causing the issue.
Check out http://www.sqlserverdatamining.com for more details and example code.
 
Also checked out SQL 2008 for Developers. Again, not much new, saw a visual query analyser which is used to display geometric results visually. Very cool. Will blog the link when I manage to find it… None of my favourite search engines are finding it right now.
 
Tomorrow I’m on the BI Power Hour panel. I really hope I don’t fight with other members of the panel too much… Might use some Ed de Bono techniques to constructively disagree.
 
Watching "The Good Sheperd" in the background. A great example of how not to piece a movie together, I have no idea what’s going on. I think I might just go to bed 🙂
 
 
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

